Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many major cities have started to invest more in public sports facilities over the last few decades. This investment is due to the fact that most people have become aware of the importance of leading a healthy life. However, others see this measure as not very effective, discussing the impact this will have on the overall health’s population, while advocating for more steep measures in order to improve public health. In my opinion, there is an element of truth in both sides of the discussion. Therefore, it is important to analyze both points of view to fully comprehend the topic.

Firstly, many researchers have come to the conclusion that practising sports has a positive impact on health. Not only will you experience improvements on your physical health, but also on your mental health, since hormones such as dopamine and adrenaline are released when practising certain sports. That being said, we should not forget the social factor involved, especially when practising team sports. That is why some local governments are building more sports facilities in parks and beaches, apart from giving incentives to private sports clubs.

However, there are those who claim that this will have little impact on the overall public health, and are demanding for more actions to be taken by local authorities. This group of people say that some of the money invested in facilities such as outdoor gyms in parks, or skating rinks, would be more useful if spent on raising awareness on having healthy diets. For instance, they suggested installing stalls in parks where people do exercise such as walking, cycling or running without need of facilities, giving away fruit and bottles of mineral water to those exercising.

They also suggest investing on advertising against smoking and drug or alcohol abuse. Some professionals have claimed that the negative impact of these activities outweigh the benefits of practising sports altogether.

All in all, there should be a clear balance in order to improve public health. Building new or improving already existing sports facilities is one of the many steps towards having a healthy population. Nonetheless, this should not be considered enough on its own, and therefore more actions should be implemented, so that all factors combined together, can have a real and deep impact on everyone’s well-being.