some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Public health has become one of the most considerable problems nowadays. Some people suggest that increasing the number of sports facilities is an optimum method to improve it while opponents doubt the effect and argue that other measures should be implemented. In my opinion, several steps should be taken at the same time in order to achieve this goal.

Supporters believe that people can have more opportunities to do physical exercises if more sports facilities are constructed. In this way, people can have easier access to gyms and fitness centers where they can jog, swim and do strength training more frequently, which has a positive impact on dwellers’ health. In contrast, for example, if these facilities are far from residence area and business district, which means people have to spend several hours in commuting, there is no denying that they would rather go home and have a good sleep after a hard-working day.

On the other hand, this measure may not work since people are too busy to have time to care about their physical health. They often have no chance but to work overtime to earn enough salaries in order to cope with the soaring basic costs such as housing and food prices. And building more sports facilities sometimes even makes the situation worse because the government will probably impose heavier tax on workers so that more money can be raised for facility construction.

As far as I’m concerned, several measures including increasing the number of those facilities and income of residents should be combined to improve public health. People will feel less stressful with more money and subsequently begin to raise the awareness of doing physical activities to keep fit. The authority can also provide public bicycles and encourage people to use them to travel to work or get around. This can increase the amount of exercises for citizens which is beneficial to their physical conditions.