Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty while others say that economic growth damaging environment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Today, people in many countries have been direct beneficiaries of explosive economic growth. Many believe that it is the sole method to remedy the problems of impoverishment and hunger while others argue that it should be stopped due to its devastating effects on the environment. Personally, I incline to the former notion as this development allows people to have jobs and governments to subsidize the poor.

Those who see economic growth as a threat to the environment propose one major green issue, which is air pollution. It is true that economic development implies higher output, which means that countries have to produce more to either for their residents or for worldwide. In order to meet the growing demand, they may have to consume a greater amount of non-renewable energy such as coal and petroleum, leading to air pollution. For instance, research has shown that China relies on coal power for nearly 70% of its energy and due to this, the country has the poorest air quality in the world.

On the other hand, I agree with those who contend that only economic growth is viable to tackle hunger and poverty for two main reasons. First, the development provides people with more job opportunities so that they could meet basic necessities of life. To elucidate, as firms will produce more goods and services, more labour is required and as a result, the unemployment rate would possibly fall. Second, a rise in the national budget allows the government to subsidize more impoverished people. They will be accommodated with fundamental things such as house, food and clothes to facilitate their life. To exemplify, the Great Vietnam Famine, which occurred in 1945, had led to thousands of dead people due to a lack of food; however, thanks to the government's best endeavor to boost economy that now Vietnam is among the most successful developing countries with more people being able to buy houses, cars and many others necessities.

In conclusion, while economic growth may result in air pollution, I do not think it should be stopped. I believe that this is the only effective method to end famine and destitution.