The traditional that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

It is true that family meals play a vital role in strengthening family ties and building better relationships between members. However, the traditional family mealtime is no longer a prevalent thing. The chief reasons that could explain this paradox are the hectic schedules of both parents and children and the differences between their eating habits. This changing pattern of behavior could lead to conflicts in family and some health consequences.

There are two main reasons that shed light on why families no longer share mealtime as they used to do in the past. First, both parents and children are inundated with their work and study. It can be seen that while parents usually go to work from early morning to late night, their children have to enrol in a multitude of extra classes. As a result, having time to have meals together is almost impossible for families. Second, family members have different eating habits. For instance, children are often too impatient to eat at the table but prefer having meals in front of the television whilst the opposite is true for parents. Thay do realize that their offsprings’ habits are harmful, however, instead of preventing them from watching TV while eating, they put up with it.

The consequences brought by the disappearance of family mealtime are serious. From the perspective of the family, no time for family meals could weaken family bonds. As parents and children have no shared time to talk, they could not deeply understand each other. Consequently, conflicts might occur and when these become more profound, divorces are probably inevitable. In terms of health, family meals were an opportunity to provide all the members with a healthy diet. Without this routine, children are sometimes left to have snacks or to eat junk food, leading to some health problems such as obesity, heart diseases and more severely, hyperactivity.

In conclusion, the phenomenon of disappearing family shared meals is due to the hectic pace of life facing members and the divergences between generations’ eating habits. This problem leads to family arguments and health issues.