Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it should be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people suppose that the development of the economy can solely end starvation and poverty-stricken condition. While others argue that this growth should be stopped because it is annihilating our environment. I was convinced with the first idea as economic progress is vital.

On the one hand, it is irrefutable that the rise of the economy has resulted in many environmental issues. One of them is the significant increase of emissions fumes in our daily lives which may destruct the ozone layers and cause ocean acidification. Consequently, the ecological diversity will be messed up. Furthermore, the garbage of many industrial areas is directly released into the living habitat of animals which may ends up in the mass extinction of thousands of species. For instance, the biological groups of species living near the world largest coral reef are in danger due to water pollution.

On the one hand, many countries nowadays are processing economical development as their first priority to endure starvation. In fact, this growth pulls off the raising of a variety of successful private entrepreneurs and industry which are governments’ main tax contributors. Therefore, the countries’ budgets are always in stable condition - an important factor in ending hunger and poverty. Last but not least, economic growth opens a plethora of job opportunities for homeless and poor people. Consequently, not only the unemployment and poverty-stricken rate will fall tremendously but also release the burden of financial support for those classes.

In conclusion, I agree that the development of economy can totally solve the hunger and poverty condition. However, it is unfit to suggest stopping all economical activities due to the environmental consequences caused by this procedure.