Some people say that history offers no practical benefit to society while others claim that history teaches us to understand the present.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People often opine that history has no particular significance to the current society, while others argue learning from our past can help us better understand the present. Though I agree with the fact that mistakes in the past has made us learn multiple lessons that can help the society as we move forward, I also believe digging too far into the past will only hinder the society in making strides to the future. The forthcoming paragraphs address similar views as well.

From the evolutionary phase, humanity has relied on the process of trial and error for existance, for which the study of history comes to aid. As humans, we have a history of rich socio-cultural importance, perticularly to analyze and understand the mistakes made in the past, which acts as a cautionary tale for people now. Moreover, it is often believed that history repeats in a regular pattern, thus understanding those pattern might help us dodge any detrimental disasters in future. A report by The New York Times states that scientists nowdays are predicting disasters, like hurricanes and floods, by studying the weather patterns from the previous years, which perfectly exemplifies how studying history is helping people understand the conditions at present.

Meanwhile, digging too deep into the history only hinders developments at present. People nowdays have a tendency to look up for inspiration for newer inventions from the items in the past; which are often not successful, leading to a waste of time and resources. Moreover, human history is tainted with the stories of religious hatred, discrimination, colourism and racism, which if dug up from the graves not only divides the society but can induce wars among the people, thus some part of the history must be forgotten.

In my opinion, the study of history has some positives as it helps us learn through past mistakes and move forward, while providing a source of inspiration for multiple discoveries, if explored into the depts might fracture the society into pieces and cause wars and riots among people. Thus, study of history in my opinion shound be handled with caution, as it has a plethora of pros but equal amount of cons.

In conclusion, knowledge of our history is a boon if taken as a source of inspiration and a tale of caution, but can hinder current strides in development when explored to its depts. Though, I believe history teaches us to understand the present in some aspects, it should not be deemed as a mantra to run the society.