Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, ther people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Relying on a university degree for a better job is generally a matter of debate, as some people argue learning soft skills and gaining experience is essential rather than a degree. Both these arguments stand true varying on the perspectives the issue is viewed upon, while my opinion as well lies somewhere in between the two extremities of the argument which is expressed in the impending paragraphs.

A university degree provides an in-depth knowledge to the field, as well as fosters the skills required for the workplace. The four-year university degree for any course includes specialized subjects often taught by the people at the higher end of the field. Moreover, students through the term get to learn and develop the skills required in a planned and systematic way, assisting them to learn at a steady pace. For instance courses like engineering or medicine starts initially with the basics and proceeds through the years to newer and abstract concepts, fostering a sequential approach of learning which couldn’t be achieved when done by ownself.

Meanwhile, some skills essential for a workplace, including communication, leadership, and management, can only be learnt through experiences. Experiencing new things is one of the easiest ways of learning, so is the case for the skills required for any workplace, which can not be achieved through theoretical knowledge attained in the university. Studies have shown people can handle situations easily if it resonates with the person’s past experiences, advocating for the importance of experience for developing managerial skills. Furthermore, the likelihood of a person to learn new skills is dependent upon his interests, which in case of crammed university courses are often missing.

Finally, I believe that both university education as well as soft skills have their impact on a person’s success.The technical knowledge gained through a university degree can not be achieved by ownself, which is of huge importance in high paying jobs including the tech industry, while interpersonal skills are a must for any workplace which can only be learnt through experiences.

Summing things up, getting a better job in today’s world requires both soft skills attained through experience as well as technical understanding acquired from a structured education system. Thus, both the degree and work experience are the requirements to obtain a good job in my opinion.