Some people say international sports events help in world peace.Do you agree or disagree

Today's world is reeling under the effects of hate crimes and cross-country terrorism. It is often believed that events such as intercountry sports meet will help to propagate the message of peace and brotherhood in the world. I completely agree with this view and in the course of my essay, will shed some light on the reasons which have shaped my opinion.

Any sport, if played in the right spirit, has several advantages for the society. Firstly, it helps to instill the spirit of nationalism in each human being. Both the players and spectators get emotionally stirred by a feeling of pride to one's own country. Playing of the respective national anthems before any intercountry sporting event is an example to prove this point. Secondly, we cannot refute the fact that it gives immense joy when the spirit of the game overcomes the petty barriers of countries and cultures because national teams often have players from different ethnicities and backgrounds. This helps to spread the message of oneness and unity in diversity. Last but not the least, international sports meet help to ease tension between warring countries as sports often serves as a binding factor between them. To illustrate, passion for a cricket is a common trend which binds the neighboring countries India and Pakistan. International one day games and test matches show us that the players of both countries are quite friendly and amicable off the field. This helps to spread the feeling of brotherhood of mutual admiration. It is not unusual to see the players congratulating each other or laughing at a joke. This teaches us to respect each individual for his virtues, regardless of the intercountry political disputes. Thus, these sports meets between different countries show us that the human spirit and regard for humanity is above political issues and tensions.

In conclusion, I completely agree with the opinion that Sports played at International level helps in easing tensions between countries and helps to spread the message of tolerance, peace, and brotherhood.