Some people say that the Internet is responsible for destroying the social skills of teenagers and young adults.

Since its invention, the Internet has changed the way people communicate. Many people argue that it has had a negative influence on the way teenagers and young adults communicate. This essay will present some ideas about why this may be a negative development and suggest how this influence can be reduced.

Although the Internet had developed many aspects of our everyday life, its negative impact on young people is serious. Teenagers, nowadays, are addicted to social media sites and spend most of their time surfing the internet. This behaviour is addictive and is causing many problems such as depression, stress, anxiety, and jealousy that will eventually affect the teenager interaction in real life. Moreover, teens are spending less time with their family and friends and depend on virtual communication to check up on people, ask questions, or even get to know one another. Last but not least, young people may use a persona on the Internet that is different than their personality in real life making them feel less confident to communicate effectively with other people in face-to-face situations.

There are several interventions that can be made to tackle the dangers of the internet over young people. On one hand, parents have an important role to solve this issue by monitoring their young boys and girls. Firstly, they can limit internet access during the week, and turn it off at night. Encouraging their children to play outside and empowering them to do their favourite hobbies, is another thing that families can do to solve this issue. On the other hand, schools can be an important part to solve this matter. Schools can encourage teens to volunteer in the schools’ activities and events and find ways to involve them in community service. Finally, governments can impose laws and regulations on social media companies to force them to specify the allowable time for teens to spend using their applications.

In conclusion, it is clear that the Internet has a big impact on disrupting teenagers social life, however, many solutions and steps could be taken by families, schools, and government to tackle this issue.