In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing.

Obesity is considered to be one of the most dangerous things that several countries are suffering from. Increased weight of the citizens has an adverse effect on peoples health and fitness. In this essay, I will outline some of the causes of this matter and propose several solutions that could be taken to tackle this issue.

One one hand, people are the ones responsible for their increased weight and this can be attributed to several factors. Firstly, people are consuming more and more unhealthy food. Employees, for example, order fast food for lunch on a daily basis. Secondly, the amount of time that people spend on doing any kind of physical activity is decreasing. People are not going out of their homes like they used to do before. They would prefer to watch a movie and eat unhealthy snacks than going out outside and doing their favourite hobbys with their friends. Last but not least, there is a huge responsibility that is put on the shoulders of food companies. The ingredients used in most of the products are not natural and are filled with many bad chemicals and food sweeteners.

There are several solutions that could be done to encounter this important problem. First of all, governments need to regulate and form strict laws on food manufacturing companies. They should limit the use of artificial ingredients and use natural ones instead. Additionally, governments must impose a high tax on the establishment of fast food shops and restaurants. This would discourage business people to open new shops that serve unhealthy food. Second of all, the ministry of education should coördinate with schools kitchens’ to cook healthy food for students. As most students spend most of their times in the school, hence if served unhealthy food all the time, they would definitely gain more weight.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are several factors contributing to people gaining more weight; however, many interventions can be done, especially by the government, to solve this problem.