Some people say that it is impossible for a country to be both economically successful and have a clean environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, it is believed that it is infeasible for a nation to be both economically prosperous and have a clean habitat. Although this belief seems sensible, I am of the opinion that there are more reasons for co-existing.

On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why economic growth will cause environmental contamination. First, because developing countries rely on the manufacturing industry, most of the environmental incidents occur because the owners of production and business establishments illegally dump waste or because the waste treatment and storage works have problems, fires, explosions, chemical leaks, oil spills, etc. large amounts of untreated waste are discharged into the environment. Second, if the living standards are higher, people would consume more goods. For example, for people to generate many sources of pollution, waste is increasing in composition and volume but the infrastructure for waste collection and treatment is still lacking leading to increasing pressure on the environment, adversely affecting the quality of the environment, especially environmental pollution degradation of ecosystems and biodiversity.

On the other hand, there are many reasons why it is feasible for both economic advancements and clean surroundings. First, by investing in tech & science to protect the environment, scientists have been developing ways to replace traditional sources of extraction in many areas, such as electricity and fuel. The use of renewable energy creates an alternative to sunlight, wind and geothermal, which has been applied in many fields, helping to protect the environment from harm. Second, the state should choose to develop the service economy to promote the prevention and control of environmental pollution. For instance, income increases when people have job opportunities such as cleaning services, housing, and urban areas.

In conclusion, while some say that it is not possible to both economically affluent and protect habitat pollution. I suppose that there are some other reasons to do both at the same time.