Some people believe that it is impossible for a country to be both economically successful and have a clean environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the era of modernization and technical progress, economic growth may harm nature so it is frequently said that a nation can not achieve economic prosperity and ambient preservation at the same time. Although the repercussions of economic development can not be denied, I believe that these countries can address environmental problems with the reasons provided below.

It is easy to understand why numerous people argue that economic success, which is an outcome of increased industrialization and urbanization, will hurt the environment. One of the consequences is that chemicals, especially exhaust fumes and carbon, are released into the atmosphere, polluting the air and water resources as a consequence of factory operations. According to the Global Carbon Project (GCP) report, carbon footprints from fossil and industrial use accounted for a large proportion, and reached a record of about 36.8 of the total 43.1 billion tons (in 2019), this figure had risen around 0.6% compared with 2018. Moreover, economic growth leads to global warming and volatile weather, which threaten the living environment of not only a variety of animals but also humans.

Nevertheless, a nation, which is economically powerful, still has measures to solve these problems. To begin with, governments could introduce laws to encourage factories to reuse materials and reprocess wastes by modern technologies or to force companies to use renewable energy from solar, wind or water power.For instance, in Singapore, they burn all the entire country’s waste before collecting the ashes, shipping it to an artificial island to dump in its sea; or absorbing about 90% of the trash in this country to process and turning it into electricity. Besides, individuals should also be able to take responsibility for the impact they have on the environment. It means citizens can do activities to save the natural world by taking public transport rather than driving, choosing products with less packaging, and recycling as much as possible.

In conclusion, I contend that it is not impossible to attain environmental cleanliness during the process of economic development, provided that people notice the aspect of ecological safety from the inception of any industrial or manufacturing process, and both governments and individuals have methods to maintain the environment clean.