Some people say that marriages should be arranged by intermediaries. Others say that young people should be free to choose their marriage partners.

Which viewpoint do you agree with ?

Over the past, marriage has been one of the most vital institutions in human society. The issue of debate is whether spouses are paired together hinged on pure romantic love or arrangement. In my opinion, love-based marriages would bring a multitude of benefits to both partners.

To begin with, getting married based on personal choice would help both spouses to keep their marriage longer and healthier. Couples who have already known and understood each other could contemplate their compatibility, financial condition, or religion before getting married which makes them less likely to conflict. Because of comprehending thoroughly each other, it is easier for them to confide and share their own difficulties in order to overcome those together. To be more specific, a national lockdown was imposed by many countries so as a consequence, couples are mostly staying at home together now. Sharing and caring are more and more important to maintain the happiness and sustainability of their relationship.

Furthermore, choice motivates oneself to work on marriage as a commitment. The purpose of establishing a marital relationship with a loved one is despite having some tough times, togetherness could be maintained forever. Therefore, decisions made by oneself ensure responsibility for building a life together through ups and downs times. If it weren’t a love-based marriage, both spouses would not sacrifice for the sake of the two which could lead to conflict and divorce.

To sum up, getting married should be based on actual love and personal choice to keep marriage long-lasting and fulfilling. In the modern world, the right to choose is a fundamental right of humans. To accommodate people with that, this kind of marriage is justified and should be encouraged.