Some people think that they should be able to keep the money they earn and do not have to pay tax. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Taxation has been opposed by certain demographics of society. These people claim that they should be allowed to maintain their money and be exempted from that system. This essay will discuss why tax is entirely necessary and should not be revoked.

To begin with, tax plays a crucial role in the development of businesses. For companies to flourish in the country, the infrastructure has to be good enough to cater for their demands. For example, if the transportation systems weren’t satisfactory, goods from a company could not be delivered to other places. This leads to the emergence of various problems such as overproduction and quality fade.

Furthermore, it will help improve the quality of the citizens’ life, especially for the low-income ones. Tax is a major source of government revenue for social welfare which ensures members of a society can meet basic human needs. Let take the education aspect as an example. With high taxes, in Germany, students do not charge tuition fees for studying which makes the illiteracy rate in that country stand at only 1% in 2018.

Critics of the above idea might claim that they deserve to earn the exact amount of money compared to their workload without paying any income tax. This is true to some extent except for the poor. Were tax to not appear, those individuals’ children would not have sufficient education and other supports. Therefore, the next generations of that family would be at risk of continual poverty.

To conclude, tax is indeed crucial in developing a company as well as providing the public with social welfare. Every individual deserves to have their basic needs met.