Some people say that the most important thing about being rich is that it gives you the opportunity to give back.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this contemporary society, it is generally believed that wealthy individuals are given the opportunity to devote what they have earned to the community. Personally, I totally concur with this statement.

For a variety of reasons, it is beneficial for people in the upper class when they dedicate their assets to others. First, by contribute to the community, the rich will be able to support those who are underprivileged. As a result, by giving a hand to the poor, rich people can gain more support and attract public attention, giving them more fame and enhance their social status. Taking Ms Phuong Hang, who is an incredibly successful business woman in Vietnam, as an example, during the Covid 19 lockdown, she has helped the local community by giving free oxygen tanks to the local medical camps in order to support patients who were infected with the virus. Hence, she has become a role model for a number of people because of her generous gesture.

Apart from the abovementioned practical concerns, numerous people from the elite choose to devote their own money in hope of supporting other people. A large group of wealthy people have a notion that doing charity can help them accumulate more positivity. In addition to this, these people also believe that helping others can give them a sense of comfort and partially release negative energy. Another aspect that is worth mentioning is that some individuals hold a belief that their assets will not be carried along with them to the afterlife. Therefore, instead of keeping, these people choose to provide aid to people in underdeveloped areas as they may think that their actions can somehow become their legacy once they pass away.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that it is essential for the rich to financially support others.