Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

A significant proportion of the society believe that playing music is an effective method of uniting a diversity of cultural groups and individuals of varied age brackets. However though this popular belief has not been adequately substantiated with sound reasons for decades, I strongly agree with it and would argue that it is pertinent for people to appreciate how music unites societies of different cultures and ages.

To begin, music is an effective way of enhancing a favourable coexistence of different traditional backgrounds. It is a form of entertainment that creates opportunities for individuals to congregate and form an alliance. Artists occasionally organise musical concerts, performances and theatrical activities that encourage a range of people from a diversity of cultures, races and continents to congregate with a joint goal of being entertained. Such popular musical exhibitions encourage the association of cultures as well as relations between the young and elderly members of different communities.

Secondly, musical awards and collaborations promote an intertwining of cultural beliefs and cooperative spirit among artists and people. There is a recent development in the music industry where musicians engage in group and joint performances with other foreign artist in order to produce a record label. Such performance allows people from different cultural setting to exchange ideas, cultural values and practices. An illustration of this is seen in the duet between the American songstress Rihanna and Nigerian actress Tiwa savage. Such duet showcased Nigerian dancesteps and even exposed a legion of Nigerian customary practices to the whole world.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with the longstanding belief that music and songs play a pertinent role in uniting different people of contrasting cultural backgrounds and ages. In future, I believe it would not be mere wishful thinking that the world policy makers would recognize the unity promoting potential of music and be able to utilize it in encouraging intercontinental and racial peacekeeping.