it is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children.

It is pertinent for young people to understand the distinction between right and wrong deeds at a tender age. It is occasionally crucial that they are punished in order to help them understand this. Although this is a popular belief in the society, I would disagree with this view. However, there is a milder form for punishing a child which does not involve physical abuse and can be employed to train children.

To begin, it is despicable to punish young ones because they are physically feeble and not strong enough to endure any form of abuse. Children are not yet mature and could easily breakdown medically and intellectually if they are spanked. The net effect is that they might be hospitalised or suffer from severe morbidity if they are subjected to similar harsh sentence as adults. As an example, the world health organisation reported that parental smacking in the guise of disciplining the child is the primary cause of child hospitalisation in USA.

On the other hand, a less stringent form of child disciplinary measure can be utilized in encouraging our young wards appreciate the difference between good and bad behaviour. Denying the child his/her passionate desires can drum into the young mind the need for right deeds. Since the child would strive to fulfil his desires he would constantly choose to behave accordingly. Such constant ethical behaviour would soon become a habit and the young one would progress to a stage where he unconsciously acts in the right manner while as well as avoiding evil actions. As an illustration, scientists have demonstrated in the recently published journal of science that parents who deny their child his wants when he acts in a wrong manner and rewards them with enticing gifts to encourage a good deed raise well behaved responsible children that are ethically as well as justly sound.

In conclusion, though some members of the society are of the opinion that our tender ones needs to undergo some form of physical torture to learn to distinguish right from wrong, I would argue that it is ethically wrong to spank a child . Reward and punishment method of training should be used instead.