Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Music is seen as a method to bridge among people from various backgrounds. I completely agree that there is a magic power from music to connect individuals from different cultures and age groups.

There are several reasons why music can offer opportunities for people to understand others from outside of their homeland. Firstly, although the language may be the barrier, listeners can still appreciate the beautiful sounds of a foreign song. People can empathy the feelings, whether it is happy or sad, conveying by the singers from the lyrics. Secondly, many traditional songs containing rich historic and cultural meanings for the country can be used as an ideal way to show its development journey to foreigners. Finally, thanks to the Internet, a popular song from any corner of the world can easily be a topic to start a conversation. For example, almost all my Chinese and Australian friends can recognise the rhyme from Stupid Love these days and commend about Lady Gaga.

On the other hand, music can also help to eliminate the age gap between young and old generations. Some songs are classic and famous for decades, so everyone knows it regardless of how old they are. Take Yesterday Once More as an example, my mother has known it for twenty years or so and I play the song and enjoy listening with her sometimes. More often than not, there are stories behind the songs, creating chances for the elderly to pass them down to their children or grandchildren. Further, singing songs is a common habit for all generations and it can be a family activity linking family members closely.

In conclusion, everyone all over the world can be connected by music in spite of their ages and cultural backgrounds.