Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is a school of thought that musical art plays a significant role in strengthening cohesion among people from different cultural backgrounds and generations. From my perspective, I wholeheartedly agree with this assertion and this essay will elaborate on detailed reasons.

To commence with, songs have an exceptional ability to expel the barriers between different nations thanks to the melodies and messages they deliver. It is the melody of music that evokes a wide range of feelings in the listeners such as sadness, anger, and happiness regardless of the languages in which songs are written. For example, a Vietnamese may fall in love with a Korean pop song with a catchy tune, and a Japanese may shed tears while listening to a melancholic piece of music written by an American musician. Moreover, the music brings nations of disparate cultures together through an overwhelming urge for liberty, equality, and fraternity as shown in the meaning of the lyrics. For instance, the song Heal the World by Michale Jackson with a humanitarian theme about peace has been performed by children of all skin colors around the world and has contributed significantly to changing the world.

Just as it transcends cultures, music is a common ground for people to understand better and be closer to each other, irrespective of age. Nowadays, it is not surprising to see young individuals fond of the nostalgic feel of a song released years ago, and likewise, modern music genres such as hip-hop and rap are also becoming increasingly popular among older people. For instance, it is commonplace to see a family of different generations gathered together in a karaoke room, singing and dancing to the same song with much joy. Moreover, music is also a tool for people to express their love which sometimes could not be expressed in words because of gap generations. Some songs about parenthood are born as a means for not only musicians but anyone who sings them to express respect to their parents.

In conclusion, music promotes cross-cultural understanding regardless of various national identities and ages. I believe that it unites the world and eliminates our differences.