Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

At times it is declared that only traveling or working in a foreign country persuades people to learn a foreign language. However, others claim that there are several motivations for acquiring a new language. Although foreign trips and jobs can be the main reasons, I believe that other intentions may encourage individuals to learn a language as well.

On the one hand, it is thought that applying for a job or planning a journey to another country are the only forces that make people interested in a foreign language. In fact, no need for an unknown language is felt owing to the translation industry. Increasing the number of translated books, essays, and journals has led to less demand for learning other tongues. In other words, obtaining a new language is impractical for individuals who are not tending to travel abroad or apply for a foreign corporate.

On the other hand, many other factors can motivate people to work with another language. Although many books and scholarly resources have been translated into various languages, professionals still prefer to read in the original language. Besides, there are still numerous pieces of research that have not been translated yet. In my opinion, learning a new language is not just about jobs or journeys. Attaining a language provides the opportunity of getting to know different cultures. In addition, people tend to study a new language to exercise and strengthen their minds.

In conclusion, there are several aims defined for multilingualism, such as seeking a job or traveling abroad. However, from my point of view, people can have other intentions, like getting familiar with a variety of cultures or exercising their brains.