Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Learning a new language is a hot topic due to the recent globalization process. Some people believe that the only reason to learn a foreign language is to travel or study abroad while others believe that there are more reasons why one study a foreign language. In my opinion, traveling and studying abroad is not only the reason why people learn a new language when they could do it because of interest or a language certificate in order to finish college.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that if someone wants to travel or study abroad, they need to learn the language of that country. Firstly, understanding this language allows people to know its culture better especially since there are a lot of TV shows or documentaries on the Internet nowadays. Based on that, customers can explore more about its culture and know about where to go or what to eat. Secondly, foreign students also need to learn English or the language of the country they follow in order to break the language barrier and understand their lectures. Most colleges nowadays use their language as a primary and English as a secondary, so understanding both of them is a huge advantage in the learning process. Due to these arguments above, knowing a foreign language is necessary for one who wants to go abroad.

On the other hand, there are more reasons why one learns a foreign language. For instance, some people learn a new language due to their interest or a language certificate. Nowadays, anime is becoming more and more popular among younger, so some learning Japanese in order to understand the story behind or watch/read anime without substitutes. In addition, some schools or colleges also require a language certificate for graduation so students have to learn a foreign language in order to finish their study process. Therefore, learning a new language is not only about traveling or studying abroad, there are many more reasons why people want to learn it.

In conclusion, understanding the language used by the destination country would help people a lot in traveling or studying abroad, but there are more reasons such as interest or language certificate for people learning a foreign language.ư