Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discus both these views and give your own opinion.

With the development of global trade, more and more people realize that foreign language is very important in our life. However, people have different views about the reason why we need to learn a foreign language, such as travel, work and so on. While traveling or working is one of most significant reasons about learning foreign languages, I believe that there are many other causes for people to learn other languages.

It is obvious that for some people, the purpose of learning foreign languages is to travel or work. Firstly, when people travel abroad, if they had acquired foreign languages would make this trip more convenient. For example, different countries have their official language such as English, travelers could use this official language to chat with local people or ask for help if they meet problems. Secondly, there is no doubt that having a good common of foreign languages could increase opportunities in their work fields. This is because there are many companies acquire for inter-disciplinary talent, which means that if employers hold another language which can improve their competitive and have more chances to find a good job.

On the other hand, this is not to say traveling or working is the only reason for people to learn foreign languages. I mainly agree with that there are several reasons attract people to learn other languages. For example, many students want to study abroad to enhance their eyesight which means that they need to pass the school requirements which includes the languages exam. Another reason is that, some linguist they are keen on learning different languages because they want to know more about the other culture and promote the communication of the culture. Therefore, this kind of person would learn foreign languages.

In conclusion, people choose to learn other languages not only for traveling or working, but also for studying to expand their horizon or interest in promoting cultural exchange.