Some people say in order to prevent illness and disease, government should focus on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been increasing advocacy that the locals should prioritize reducing environmental pollution and addressing housing issues in order to deal with illness and combat disease. In my viewpoint, I completely agree with these valuable suggestions and also believe that nutritious food sources and a healthy lifestyle should be a priority for authorities.

It is obvious that environmental pollution and housing problems directly lead to health issues. Regarding pollution, according to some recent surveys, Ho Chi Minh City and Hanoi are getting worse and worse atmosphere quality due to the gas from vehicles and industrial emissions from factories, contributing to the increase in respiratory illnesses. Similarly, communities living near water sources polluted by untreated industrial waste are at risk for numerous health problems. Moreover, high property prices and economic instability force individuals with lower incomes to live in small and unhygienic spaces, which impact and exacerbate health challenges.

Additionally to the aforementioned factors, I believe that food sources and lifestyles also have a dramatic effect on our health. If people use unhealthy or unsafe types of food, their immune systems will be weakened. For example, individuals who use fast food usually get chronic conditions, as well as those who use food treated with harmful chemicals have a high chance of getting dangerous illnesses and cancer. Thus, the government should focus on choosing food safety and educating the citizens about the dangers of poor dietary habits. Furthermore, in this modern society, people often bury themselves in work and study, alive with a sedentary lifestyle and a huge amount of pressure that leads to chronic stress and insufficient physical activity, which can rapidly destroy our immune systems.

In conclusion, besides reducing pollution and housing problems, I believe that addressing poor dietary habits and lifestyle should also be on the government's agenda in order to improve and protect human well-being and health.