Some people say in order to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Mitigating environmental catastrophes and housing issues can be a practical solution to eliminate various ailments and diseases. Although this viewpoint has significant merits, I argue that medical services should be given equal priority to prevent ailments for the following reasons.

On the one hand, minimizing the impacts of environmental pollution and housing issues can prevent the outbreak of various diseases. First and foremost, many insects in a contaminated environment can have a detrimental effect on human health, potentially causing fatalities. For instance, malaria - a fatal disease caused by mosquitos breeding in polluted water - has infected and killed thousands, necessitating governments worldwide to roll out vaccines to curb its widespread transmission. Consequently, the successful rollout of malaria vaccines has highlighted the need for financial resources to resolve environmental issues. Additionally, solving housing issues can prevent individuals from mental health issues. This is because when humans face a likelihood of homelessness, they are more inclined to panic about their safety. Therefore, if this uncertainty persists, they can suffer from various mental health issues, such as depression.

Conversely, enhancing healthcare can eradicate some ailments and safeguard human health. The proliferation of global populations has led to increased demand for food and other agricultural products to meet this growing need. Nevertheless, growing vegetables and other fruits may take several months to cultivate, which may not satisfy consumer demand. As a result, harmful agricultural practices - such as the use of fertilisers and pesticides - are applied to accelerate crop growth, potentially inducing some chronic conditions in consumers, such as cancer. Therefore, the distribution of national resources to medical services is essential to cure diseases caused by poisonous agricultural products.

In conclusion, while mitigating environmental pollution and housing issues can eliminate some diseases, I argue that healthcare services should receive equal government intervention to ensure human health. The rationale for this perspective lies in the fact that humans can contribute to a more sustainable nation when they are healthy.