Some people say that subjects such as music, drama and creative writing are an essential part of education, and every school should include them in its syllabus. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion and examples from your own experience.

In modern days, the idea of integrating art-related modules such as music, drama, creative writing and the like with the educational facilities’ curriculum is gaining widespread approval among some individuals because of its significance in education. From my perspective, I firmly agree with this opinion.

On one hand, there are some justifications proving that the teaching of the aforementioned subjects is of utmost importance, chief of which is for the development of imagination. From a scientific perspective, when students are enrolled in creative subjects at schools, they are expected to stretch their imagination. To exemplify, learners who take part in a drama club have to play a role, maybe a character in Shakespeare’s work, can have the ability to picture the character’s wording, intonation as well as behaviors according to historical and social context. If this process repeats again and again, creative thinking might naturally come to students. As a result, they would have a competitive advantage in modern job market where the creativity is the valuable possession in any organization.

To take myself as an example, I am working in an advertisement agency, which requires a high level of imagination to come up with new ideas for advertisements. While my co-workers often struggle in order to create a novel content to meet the demand from the customers, this task has never been a challenge to me. In my opinion, this high level of performance is attributable to my participation in a creative writing club at my university. In my school, creative writing was the core subjects that all students expected to sign up for. Additionally, I was taught how to draw inspiration for writing from day-to-day situations and make the best use of simple ideas to form a piece of work. Thanks to my regular practicing, I gradually become a creative person, so my fertile imagination is supposed to be useful in my career path.

In conclusion, I wholeheartedly believe that the incorporation of creative knowledge in educational providers’ syllabus would greatly benefit them in their prospective occupations.