Some people believe that violence in the media, such as in television programs and films, directly results in violent behavior. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People hold differing views about whether savage acts are directly attributable to the violent scenes in television or other forms of media. While some individuals contend that violence in films or TV programs has a deleterious influence on people’s behaviors, I firmly believe the educational values which this kind of scenes delivers to part of the citizens.

On the first hand, there are some justifications proving that brutal scenes are directly responsible for violence-orientated actions, the most ubiquitous is the youth, especially people at impressionable age, might imitate what they see on TV or films. To be specific, the act of combatting or fighting is adopted by film producers, and actors and actresses playing these scenes are universally regarded as heroes. Therefore, audiences are prone to be psychologically stimulated to copy their behaviors and act violently in face of conflict situations or even in daily life. By way of illustration, the blockbuster “Fast and Furious”, in which Dominic is the leading character that has an aggressive characteristic. He tends to assault everybody against him. Hence, young audiences who are his fans would imitate his brutal behaviors and behave violently on a daily basis.

On the other hand, I am in favor of the opinion that bloody scenes are not necessary a trigger for savage acts; nevertheless, they are conducive to the socially beneficial personalities under certain circumstance. On a more specific note, the footage of brutality is not always the illustration of aggression but it can be the expression of self-defense. By watching them, audiences might grasp some methods to protect themselves in response to attacks or dangers. Take an example of Vietnamese series “how to defend yourself against harassment”, although this film contains several brutal scenes, it is highly regarded from educational viewpoints since the series has done an excellent job in instructing women and children to protect themselves from harassment of any kind. As a result, people viewing this kind of violent scenes can have themselves equipped with essential survival skills.

To sum up, despite some detrimental effects of violence in the media on audiences, particularly young generations, I wholeheartedly approve of the positive educational knowledge that it gives to viewers.