Some people say that too much attention and too many resources are given in the protection of wild animals and birds. Do you agree or disagree about this opinion?

When the issue of wildlife conservation comes into view, there exist conflicting opinions. Some people claim that protecting wildlife and birds is not only drawing too much attention and but also wasting resources of society. Personally, I totally disagree with this point of view.

Though it is true that too much media coverages are spent on animal extinction, we should bear in mind that humans are reaping a number of benefits from living creatures that makes protection of animals a catching term. First and foremost, it goes without saying that wildlife conservation is in favor of a healthy biodiversity. For example, if any species living in tropical rainforest become extinct, the food chain will be disrupted and affect all the species. The worst case scenario for human, which is shortage of meat, could be expected. Moreover, it stands to reason that a wide diversity of species provides a plethora of natural service for the human beings. To be more specific,medicines that derived from the chemicals produced by animals give a helping hand in curing various health conditions, such as heart diseases and disorders. According to the U.S wildlife service, more than 25% of the medicinal prescriptions given every year contain chemicals from birds. This directly suggests that paying attention to preserving animals and birds is worthwhile.

Moreover, it is a foregone conclusion that wildlife conservation is not a waste of resources. To be more specific, the protection of natural habitats not only guarantees the survival of wild animals but also plays an integral part in the existence of human beings. For example, rainforests produce oxygen, absorb carbon dioxide and stabilise the Earth’s climate, which is critical to mankind’s well being. If human destroyed green belts, pandemic could be expected, since human do not have enough clean air to function respiratory system. By protecting wild animals and their habitats, we maintain the natural balance of all life on Earth.

In conclusion, it seems to me that both concern and resources are focused too much on the protection of wild animals and birds in this modern world.