Some people say that what individuals protect the environment cannot make a difference. Other people say that every individual should take responsibility for it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, there exists a growing belief that the responsibility to preserve the environment should fall upon every individual, regardless of their positions, ages and genders. However, people are not in complete accord about whether it is effective or not to put everyone in charge of environmental protection. This essay discusses both of these views in greater detail, and takes the view that everybody should be responsible for conserving the environment.

On the one hand, there is no denying the fact that some environmental problems such as global warming and extreme weather events are too grave to be mitigated within any individuals’ power. Instead, tackling these acute issues should really depend on the power of officials such as politicians or governments and international assistance. Only governments can call for resources, funds and supplies from multinational corporations and other nations. Additionally, in order to deal with these challenges comprehensively and thoroughly, more scientific research should be conducted, which is really time-consuming and requires advanced technology and enormous efforts of scientists. Meanwhile, carrying out this is undoubtedly infeasible to every person

Although there are reasons why people cannot deal with major environmental issues, I am inclined towards the idea that every individual should take charge of protecting the environment. First and foremost, just small and everyday actions of individuals make positive differences to the environment .Take, for example, Earth Hour which is held annually with the aim to encourage citizens across the globe to switch off electricity for one hour. As a result, Earth Hour has by far saved substantial hectares of lands, proving that each person’s action acts as a catalyst for drastic changes. This is the most important reason, as such alterations cannot be made in bureaucrats’ pockets alone. Secondly, apart from the general public, celebrities can take full advantage of the star power so as to heighten the public awareness. By way of illustration, those in the limelight have raised the funds to combat environmental issues thanks to their followers’ support. By contrast, the authority cannot be so influential to the public compared to stars.

In conclusion, it is justifiable for people to hold the belief that as opposed to the authority, normal people are unable to deal with particular environmental issues. However, I maintain that everybody should be responsible for the environmental protection on the grounds that officials’ impact is eclipsed by that of all individuals