Some people store personal and private information online, including banking, contacts and addresses. Is it a positive or negative trend?

Today, many of the internet services require their clients to disclose their personal information such as locations, phone numbers and bank account numbers. Potentially, the practice in question poses mostly drawbacks.

A lack of cyber protection has begotten a new class of international cybercriminals who rampantly prey on the stored information of the customers. A progressively increasing number of incidents of identity thefts has been reported in recent years. Some examples of these criminal activities are stealing money from oversea bank accounts, posing as someone else to make illegal transactions and scams. The men and women behind these cases often work from remote places, hacking into systems of foreign companies to extract their customers’ data, which makes the effort to apprehend, extradite and prosecute these perpetrators a daunting and seemingly impossible task. Therefore, it is usually the clients who face the consequences.

Perhaps more worryingly, there have been reports of companies that sold their clients' data to third parties. Customers’ information, including contacts and spending habits, has become valuable commodities inside the telemarketing and online-marketing circles. In this era, the ability to get hold of precise information of the potential client’s contacts and what they are looking into buying can make or break a business. The practice of purchasing people’s data is widely used in the real estate, insurance and tourism sales industry; and their providers often obtain permission to commercialize the consumer data through deceitful tactics, for instance, obscure pre-ticked boxex in registration forms. Over the past few years, fierce debates have taken place over the ownership of consumer data and the ethics of data mining. However, the current answer to this conundrum seems to be only a little more than a band-aid solution.

In conclusion, giving away information to online services is largely negative, for societies have yet to establish effective protection for people’s data when put online. Currently, putting one’s sensitive information on the internet may expose them to unfathomable risks.