To some people studying the past has little value in the modern world. Why do you think it is important to do so? What will be the effect if children are not taught history?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowl

History is a unique subject which links us with the past times of humanity. Therefore, it is essential to study our ancestors’ historical experience by adding it to curricula of educational institutions. Some people believe that this must be deleted from school program because many students do not feel motivated to study it. However, I strongly believe that learning history is necessary for new generations and there are negative consequences of not doing so.

Studying other historical periods gives insights into different ways to life. For example, students can investigate how people lived in ancient times, such as Ancient Greece or Ancient China. As a result, they have an opportunity to compare those lifestyles with ones societies experience nowadays. Therefore, we start appreciating their contribution to various life aspects we encounter these days. More importantly, learning about conflicts in the past can teach us how to avoid them in the future. For example, students may study preconditions of wars, such as World War I and II. Consequently, new generations would be aware of ways to prevent similar situations happening in societies today. Therefore, this will help to maintain the peaceful well-being of citizens at a regional or global scale as it is a priority of any country.

Regarding consequences of excluding history from taught programs, it would mean that there is no reference and background for other subjects. Since all subjects rooted in history, pupils can presumably lose interest in other subjects, given that there is no explanation for the creation and development of things in different subjects. Furthermore, another consequence is that the history of the countries would be forgotten. This will lead to decreasing the sense of pride and patriotism for their own country amid citizens. For instance, athletes could become less ambitious and motivated in Olympic games and other tournaments due to the absence of these basic senses.

In conclusion, even though for some individuals it is seemingly losing its meaning, I personally believe that history is still and even more significant for many reasons and its exclusion will result in apparent losses to the entire education. It is also suggested that history lessons should contain various activities to encourage children’s interest in it deliberately.