Some people suggest celebrating Western New year instead of Tet in Vietnam to reduce expenses and integrate into globalization. To what extend do you agree with the suggestion?

Tet holiday has become an indispensable part of Vietnamese’s life. However, there is much controversy among Vietnamese people about whether we should replace Lunar New Year with Western New Year or not. From my point of view, I strongly disagree with the statement for two main reasons.

One major reason is that eliminating Tet holiday and celebrating Western New Year will result in a loss of cultural identity. The custom of commemorating Tet has been passed down from generation to generation and considered as a national festival which reflects part of our country’s identity, custom and tradition. As a result, it is nonsense for Vietnamese people to accept another New Year festival from Western that has no meaning to our life and consider it as a way to “integrate into globalization”.

Another reason is that people do not need to spend much on Tet holiday. Through ages, Vietnamese people have simply considered Tet as a reunion chance for family members to gather and a commencement of a year. Therefore, there is no need for people to spend a large amount of money on flashy things in place of focusing on Tet holiday’s spiritual meaning. Hence, if people want to reduce expenses, they should change their attitude and perspective instead of rejecting Lunar New Year and holding Western New Year.

To summarize, Tet is a cultural festival that has been deeply ingrained in the national subconscious, so it is impossible for Vietnamese to replace it with Western New Year.