Some people think advertisements may have positive economic effects whereas others think there are negative social effects because individuals are not satisfied with who they are and what they have. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, whether advertisements are advantageous or not has become a fiercely controversial issue. Some people assert that advertisements exert positive economic influences on society, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that the industry of advertising contributes to the development of society. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that advertising often leads to economic growth since it allows people to obtain more employment opportunities. In addition, advertising is related to a myriad of industries, such as entertainment and arts. Thus, the value of the advertising industry is considered priceless and it plays an important role in nations' economy. To exemplify, one recent study conducted by a university in New York illustrates that the advertising industry accounted for approximately 15% of the gross regional domestic product of New York in 2018 and researchers expected this figure to continually increase. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that advertisements have a number of benefits of economy.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that advertisements merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that the price of products maded by companies is more likely to go up because a multitude of businesses have to invest vast sums of money in advertisements to compete with other companies. This phenomenon place financial burdens on consumers. As a brief illustration, the price of new released IPhone 11 is more expensive than a previous model. According to an article, the main reason for this turns out to be a huge amount of money on advertisements. Furthermore, companies have a tendency to give people biased information related to their items, which makes it difficult for people to distinguish drawbacks from advantages. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.