Some people think that advertising aimed at children should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that advertisements targeting children should be eliminated. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this statement.

There are several reasons why advertising might have a positive effect on youngsters. The most significant reason is that advertisements could be considered as a new method of education. As the targeted customers are children, producers are likely to ground short memorable stories about various life values in their advertisements. As a result, while watching those adverts, children tend to naturally accumulate several life lessons. The advertisement of CocaCola for Tet holiday, for example, was about family reunion and bonding, which delivered a meaningful message to children. On top of that, introducing advertisements to children might broaden their common knowledge on a daily basis. For instance, while watching a promotion about milk , children are likely to acquire the benefits of drinking milk and what nutrients are good for physical development.

However, opponents of this would argue that early exposure to advertising might adversely affect children’s mindset. Admittedly, being bombarded with a dense amount of advertising might cause children to have a tendency of making impulsive purchases since they are not mature enough to thoroughly control their budget. However, this issue could be tackled by parents’ supervision and early guidance at school about money. Because of that, advertising for children is accepted as long as children are under parents’ and teachers’ control.

In conclusion, despite some drawbacks of advertising on children, it seems to me that the disadvantages are outweighed by the advantages.