More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some pp think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that there have been numerous people becoming fatter and heavier. While I agree with the idea that rising the price of foods which are high in fat is a good way to limit such a situation, I believe that there are various solutions which people could consider to keep them health.

On the one hand, it can be said that the increasing in the price of fattening foods could deter customers from excessive consumption of these foods. Governments should rise taxes on all foods with a high fat or sugar content, which could help to reduce the amount of these foods that people purchase. It is apparent that the prevalence of fast food or processed food could encourage people to eat them too much, leading to detrimental effects on people’s health. The likelihood of people suffering from obesity is considerably high since they have such a bad eating habit. In recent years, the rate of children at school age putting on weight has rapidly increased, becoming a big concern in different countries. Therefore, the stricter control on the price of fattening foods such as snacks, junk food or fast food can be seen as an effective way to help children abandon this eating habit and to make healthier food choices.

Despite the importance of rising the price of fattening foods, people should not ignore a range of other options which may offer various benefits to keep fit. Firstly, it is essential that people should have a balanced diet. This could be done by trying to eat more vegetables and fruit or spending time preparing meals at home. For example, in developed countries, the young generation must rediscover the art of preparing home-made food, as part of a healthy lifestyle. Secondly, it is common knowledge that people should take up regular exercise to stay healthy. For instance, while taking gentle exercise, like jogging in the park, helps people increase physical strength, alternative forms of exercise such as Yoga, Tai chi or Qigong popular among people of all ages bring mental benefits. Not only these activities could help people keep in shape, but also avoid a sedentary lifestyle.

In conclusion, although I accept that rising taxes on fattening foods is an effective solution for people to avoid obesity, I believe that other methods should be done in order to gain better achievements.