Some people think that all college students should study whatever they like. Others believe they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.”

While some people believe that students should be allowed to study whatever they like, others argue that college studies should only be limited to practical and prospective fields such as technology and science. In my opinion, I believe that striking a balance between these two ideas would be the best approach.

Advocates of complete freedom of choice in college studies point out that students will likely be dedicated and passionate about their desired studies. When students freely pursue their courses, they are likely to be engrossed in any academic subject, leading to better academic performance and retention of lesson-related information. Additionally, choosing college studies without restriction will enable students to tap into their innate talents and use them to apply to their chosen fields, resulting in a more fulfilling college experience and a greater sense of personal development. For example, a would-be first-year student passionate about Vietnamese literature may take a course in Vietnamese language, poetry and culture. This will help foster a deeper understanding of Vietnamese culture and history and improve Vietnamese language proficiency and critical thinking among students.

Critics of academic freedom buttress the belief that students should be limited to studying practical fields such as science and technology due to their utility in developing human civilization and promising career prospects. As our society grows, especially in the era of Artificial Intelligence, it is imperative to have a tech-savvy youthful future workforce well-equipped with the knowledge of technology and science to keep pace with the rapidly evolving global landscape. Students studying science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) will likely get well-paid jobs and higher career opportunities. A perfect example is the global job market, with a continuously high demand for tech workers and high-paid salaries.

In conclusion, the debate about whether students should study whatever they like or only subjects such as technology or science remains contentious, with valid arguments on both sides. I believe that promoting a balance between the two approaches is feasible and appropriate because the college experience should be

transformative as it enables students to become more informed and well-educated while preparing them for future job demands.