Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

Many argue that volunteering activities for young people positively impact themselves and society. I agree with this notion as it enhances their collaborative and money management skills.

Encouraging young people to participate in unpaid working activities would improve their ability to collaborate with people from different backgrounds, opening their minds to diverse thoughts. More specifically, doing projects in a communal activity will force them to participate in discussions to reach the group’s common goal. Those discussions train them to accept different perspectives coming from people. For instance, a study suggests that students aged 12 in the US who spent their high school time participating in voluntary activities appeared less likely to be racist towards other people from different states when they went to universities. Thus, voluntary activities encourage children to be more open-minded.

Moreover, doing an unpaid job would promote the youngster’s money management skills as unpaid labor train them to regulate the fear of not having money. This improves their minds to make wiser decisions when finally making money in the future. For example, a best-selling author wrote that voluntary work trained him to be alright when he had no money. Conversely, his discomfort also forces him to look for another opportunity. After finding jobs, he did not spend all the money he got on things which value would decrease. Instead, he used that money to generate assets from the compounding interest. He said that the decision could not be attained if only he got no control over his fear and greed feelings.

In conclusion, increasing collaboration and money management skills are the two primary advantages of encouraging youngsters to participate in volunteering activities. If possible, this could be started at a very young age.