Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe that this would benefit both the individual and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that young people have to work as a volunteer and this can surely benefit for both individual and society in general. However, I do not agree that therefore we should force all the teenagers to do unpaid work.

On the one hand, most young adults are already under high level of pressure with their studies at school without being given added responsibilities for working in their spare time. This is because School can certainly be seen as a full-time job that students need to work hard to do homework and pass the exam with a wealth of knowledge. Therefore, when young people have free time, we should encourage them to enjoy it with their friends or to spend it learning some new things to help them enhance understanding about the modern new world. They have many years of work ahead when they finish their studies so any reason would be given to require them to do volunteer.

On other hand, I do not believe that society has nothing to gain from obliging teenagers to do unpaid work. First of all, I contend that it goes against the values of a free and fair society to compel young people to do something that they unwilling to. By doing this, they are actually doing more harm than good and it obviously against the human right which is one of the most important factor to constitute a develop and modern society. Besides, this can lead to objection among young people, who would feel that they were being taken advantage of and parents, who had a right to raise their children.

In conclusion, I believe that nobody is forced to volunteer because those base on awareness and voluntary and it would be counterproductive to make all teenagers to do unpaid work.