Some people think that government should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that these people should be funded by alternative sources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is sometimes argued that the government should spend money on supporting creative artists. Others contend that those people should be funded by alternative sources. In my opinion, I believe that money for art fields should come from both governments and others sources.

There are several reasons why some art projects definitely need help from the state grant. These works of art can certainly play as creative taking points which bring out numerous cultural values to the area of the city. In New York, for example, there are many new statues and sculptures in public spaces which have been developed recently by artists. These artworks represent the culture, heritage and history thereby educating people about the city, expressing meaningful messages about life to the communities. They also act as landmarks to attract visitors and tourists, governments and local residents therefore should encourage and give financial support to creative artists to produce more this kind of arts.

On the other hand, I can totally understand the arguments against government funding for art. The main reason could be that governments have more important concerns than simply splurge money on art. The state budgets need to be spent on education, healthcare, infrastructure and security. If the human’s life were not ensured, any concerns about art could become irrelevant. Another reason could be taken into account is that art also is a job like any other career. Therefore artists could earn a great deal of money from selling their works of art. So the governments should focus on improving and enhancing the quality of human’s life.

In conclusion, there are some obviously reasons why artists should rely on alternative sources of financial support, but as far as I am concerned, state’s help is sometimes necessary.