Some universities now offer their courses on the internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that online courses are becoming far more normal for people when they decide to study at university. Personally, I believe that this trend has both benefit and drawback effects. This essay will discuss both of them.

There are several reasons why people contend that study online is now inappropriate in university education. The main drawback is that students are failed to have the opportunity to face-to-face with their teachers and have to rely on video lectures instead. Therefore, any misunderstand about the subject is very hard to be cleared up. Moreover, students who study online do not come into direct contact with each other frequently, this could lead to a negative impact on the ability to discuss, criticize, and exchange of ideas. These students are also likely to lack the motivation and factor of competition between each individual that face-to-face groups or traditional courses can provide.

Although there are some drawbacks of this trend, I would argue that it has numerous benefits. Firstly, they allow learners to study in a flexible way, which means that they can learn whenever and wherever that convenient and they can choose the materials that suite their level. Secondly, the cost of university education might be greatly reduced thanks to online courses and the revenues for institutions also increase as more students sign up to these courses. Finally, online learning offers an open access to anybody who is willing to study regardless of age, location, capacity and background. My uncle, for example, who is 50 years old, has recently enrolled on an online English course and learned a great deal of knowledge from this site.

In conclusion, while I admit that there are obvious some disadvantages of online learning, but it cannot deny that more and more people are able to study from all over the world.