Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Tertiary-level education offers a wide range of specific subjects. Regarding these sources, it is argued that choosing a course subject should be determined by students; personal preference. However, others perceive that only prospective subjects for the future should be taken. While I accept that studying by passion is the best choice, considering useful courses should be taken into account in regards to the job opportunity.

Choosing one university subject could be difficult since it would determine one's long life journey. Selecting the most appropriate course which in line with passion is the best method. It means that during the learning process, students would not gain much pressure from the wrong choice. However, it is undeniable that some of the subjects are less compatible with global development such as visual art and language history. Therefore, it leads to less work opportunity or should establish their own business based on the subject background.

On the one hand, considering the opportunity of job acceptance, useful subjects which in line with today's development, such as science and technology, are more prospect. The student will be more confident about their future life because of the readiness in job competition. However, every human being is created uniquely in passion so limiting certain subjects means excluding people who already gifted with different passion from nowaday's trend. To be worse, people could study under pressure and resulting in low progress of attaining knowledge and skill which differs from their passion.

In my opinion, letting students choosing their subjects are fairer to express individual skill and knowledge. It also provides a chance for those who want to pursue an education in trending subjects as mentioned before. Therefore, everyone has the same chance to obtain the same opportunity of higher education.

In conclusion, each view has positive and negative sides yet the best option is to let every student pursuing education which in line with their preferences.