Some people think that all University students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There have been differing opinions on what students entering University should study. Some believe that students should be given the freedom to study a subject of their preference, whereas others disagree and opine to students taking up subjects that are beneficial after graduation. This essay agrees that students should study subjects that will give them a future, instead of one that they like. This essay will discuss both views.

It is common to hear that one should pursue their dreams and has become increasingly popular among their younger generation. In Universities, many opt to study subjects that are considered unpopular such as the arts and humanities. While they may find passion in these subjects, they are termed as ‘sunset industries’ and deemed to be of less importance to society. As such, when graduating with these degrees, they would face unemployment. A general employment survey in 2019 by the various Universities in Singapore found that subjects like arts and humanities had significantly lower employment rates than the average rate, achieving only a mere 53%.

On the contrary, subjects that are increasing in demand and is important in the near future are termed as ‘sunrise industries’, and students studying the relevant subjects would have a better future. Therefore, graduates of subjects such as Computer Science and Business Analytics tend to have better job security and much higher remuneration than graduates of other majors as they are highly regarded by many employers. In a study on Google in 2018, it was found that data analysts received a starting pay of 15% higher than the average, and had plans to retain them for the long term because they were considered to be the brain of the company.

In conclusion, while students should be given the autonomy to decide on their subjects in University, they need to be pragmatic and decide if the subject that they like studying will be useful upon graduation. Hence, many recommend that they should study subjects that are deemed useful in the future instead.