Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future such as those related to science and technology Discuss both these views a

Controversy exists when several people reckon choosing job-oriented courses is mandatory for an adolescent who enrolls in a university. From my perspective, i am not in favor of this opinion and I suppose that every student should have the freedom to choose his major.

There are various reasons why people believe that subjects that will be useful in the future should only be offered by educational institution . Recently, with the increasing importance of science as well as the more materialistic lifestyle, technology has gained enormous popularity when not only does it help students get an all-round understanding of the world around them but it also opens brighter doors to future careers. IT staffs, for example, can be on the average salary of 10-25 million VND per month, which is abundant for them to depend on for their livelihood. However, it is tragic that technology works merely create higher paying jobs and attract only high educated individuals who are frequently from top universities. Therefore, with a view to establishing himself in the job-market easily and getting a higher remuneration, an undergraduate need to gain in-depth knowledge of scientific subjects . For that rationale, multiple parents force their offspring to bone up on these academic subjects.

Notwithstanding, this restriction may lead to the society’s disequilibrium in the future. If people merely put their emphasis on science course, other occupations may lose their potential workforce, which in turn have a detrimental bearing on the nations' economy. For instance, there are countries which have plentiful workforce in medicine and engineering, yet need to fork out extravagant money to hire workers for their smooth functioning. Studying the subjects, which learners are interested in, also leads them to more success as students taking part in the activities which they have been dreaming of serves as an incentive to work with a great zeal . Last but not least, the beneficial impacts of non-academic should not be overlooked when physical education classes will give pupils respite from stressful periods of mental activities in other lessons. This will boost their level of concentration and understanding when they get back to the classroom.

In conclusion, it is irrational to impose the subject restriction on learners whatever the circumstance may be. The youth has an eligibility to pursue the domain they long.