Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give you opinion.

Whereas some people feel that it seems logical to let all students select universities subjects which interest them, others argue that it is better to force such students to major in subjects which may be more beneficial in the future. There are valid arguments on both sides, which I will discuss now.

On the one hand, supporters of allowing people to study their favorite fields highlight two main benefits. Firstly, it appears that students may set different goals, which suit their special requirements, ranging from family economic status to learning abilities. This, in fact, can make their enrolling in universities more viable, preventing them from chasing far-fetched aims. Secondly, those who support this idea claim that each person may possess different strengths and weaknesses. If youngsters choose a field which allows them to develop such advantages, they will be more likely to be enhance their academic performance.

On the other hand, proponents of obliging students to focus on certain fields insist that this may provide the society with some benefits. It is notable, for instance, that affluent countries with aging population can lessen the burden on public healthcare by increasing the number of medical practitioners. However, it would appear to be impossible to predict exactly what field will be the most useful. Examples can be seen in Vietnam, where the number of graduates from engineering increased many years ago, as this field had been forecasted to require a large number of employees. In fact, this wrong prediction led such workers suffer chronic unemployment.

In conclusion, although the idea of forcing people to major in certain fields would seem admirable and advantageous in some respects, it would appear that this would put people at higher risks of being jobless due to potential uncertainties. Personally, I would tend to side with the supporters of giving people freedom to study what they prefer.