Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion?

In contemporary society, there is a growing consensus about the university students’ choices for their subject due to its tremendous influences. People are divided in alternative opinion whether students should pursue the subject as their expectation or they should concentrate on the items that can support for their future. To the best of my knowledge, I am biased towards the former opinion and following essay will analyze both views in-depth.

Initially, it is essential to recognize that focusing on the subjects they like, students will have passion for something can they do it better. To be more specific, interest is considered as requisite elements to assist people in following their goals and dreams. A good case in this point is that a physician must love saving life before he can be humane and sympathetic with his patients or a pianist should be crazy for playing and then become a top-notch artist. On the contrary, a person not fascinated by what he is doing is much less likely to get anywhere in his career path.

On the flip side, it is equally pivotal to acknowledge that traditional manufacturing economy has developed into knowledge based economy, which means insights into majors play the most vital role in finding job. In fact, science and technology is of paramount importance for the development of our world; therefore, participating in these subjects will bring marvellous opportunities to university students’ future. Additionally, people are competent to collect necessary soft skills through classes about technology and science. Computer skills, for example, is expected by employers towards candidates.

Beyond and doubt, it is obvious that students have right to study whatever they like so parents and universities should encourage and give them helpful advices to their free choices. It is beneficial both to the students and whole society as well when they choose the subject by themselves.