Some people think that Art is an essential subject for children at school, while others think it is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A percentage of individuals consider art a crucial element of the school’s curriculum. While others oppose this statement and claim that it is worthlessly time-consuming, I personally think that this subject should be taught based on the student’s preference.

On the one hand, there are many reasons why students should always be encouraged to promote arts as much as science and logic. One of the many things that drawing and composing acquire is creativity and judgmental capability. This is due to the fact that arts mostly take into account not only visual skills but also audible and intellectual capabilities - unlike mathematics, where solving problems and equations are formalized. Moreover, the practice of assembling a meaningful picture or a piece of music gives more opportunities for students to develop their skills and interests. Since most children are fond of drawing and crafting, the implementation of subjects like arts and music into their academic careers would help them to put their skills to good use.

On the other hand, forcing students to adapt to subjects like arts can be backfiring in some cases. For instance, many students that participate in sports or technology may find themselves stuck in terms of working around an artistic medium. As a result, the overwhelming demands for art projects can be considerably tiring and demotivating for a large proportion of students. In addition to that, buying tools and instruments for drawing and composing can be significantly expensive, this combines with the temporary usage and reference would be wasteful for family units with low or medium income. In this case, the school should be responsible for arranging classes and sponsoring students with proper tools and environment.

In conclusion, while arts can bring together a number of factors that can kickstart children’s interests and intellectual skills, it is important to know that not all students would be able to overcome such technical and resourceful subject.