Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is indeed a major part of the debate that whether art is helpful for children or not. It is argued that is an important subject for students, whilst other disagree and think it will lead to adverse ramifications like wastage of time. In my view, the positive effects of art could certainly outweigh its disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are clear arguments that art has beneficial impact on students. To initiate with, one of the main sessions is that it is a joyful subject. In other words, art related fields such as music, history, geography, economic and so on help learners to increase their intellectual extent. Numerous studies have consistently proven that such subjects make children more adaptive to new information and therefore, it also increases their scores in other academic fields too. Moreover, further art sectors like history and economic have significant importance for students to know about their past and helps to grow financial management skills.

On the other hand, many people disagree and feel that art has negative impact on pupils. To begin with, it is often considered that art can be a burdensome subject for students. This is because they already have a lot of the burden of their other curriculum such as mathematics, science and adding a new subject may create a stress on them. A particularly good example is that during exam or test students have to learn more and more and additional subjects like art can increase their task goal. Thus, it is considered as nothing that waste of time.

To conclude, it seems that although art adds more information to the learner syllabus, it also increases their strength of mind to gain more knowledge. So, I believe that it is indeed a fruitful subject for students.