Some people think that arts (for example, music or painting) don't directly improve people's wellbeing, and therefore the government should spend money on other things. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While arts, indeed, influence people’s mental abilities, it is not wise for the government to spend money on development of arts in a country. Firstly, it is essential to put the state welfare as a priority. Second, if there is a healthy, employed population with stable and sufficient income, there will be a huge boost in development in the field of arts.

To begin with, in must not be neglected, that the government has an obligation before its citizens to provide them with an opportunity to get proper medical help, decent education and career growth prospects. Creation of such facilities demands large amounts of money, and it must be put on the biggest article in the state budget. To illustrate, it is relevant to take the annual budget of Russia, where it is decided to spend 1/3 of the all budget on upgrading welfare system and making the quality of life to go up.

Furthermore, arts are useless in case of society poverty. When people are making ends meet, they are not interested neither in paintings nor in music. It would be meaningless for a state to build museums, organize exhibitions, invest money in buying paintings of worldwide legends in art, if its citizens are tortured by hunger and lack of finances. On the opposite, having invested in welfare system once, a state gets enthusiastic population, driven by the desire to learn more about art craft in the long run.

For example, it is evident, that a level of a good income of the USA citizens allows the government to focus on its cultural policy through developing contemporary and modern arts, the result of this policy may be seen in a huge amount of famous modern artists and musicians who come from the US.

To conclude, I am firmly convinced that poor states must abandon the idea of investing money in arts, due to the fact that people’s lives do not depend on paintings and songs, they depend on food, shelter, and the ability to be rescued in the case of emergency. Focusing on arts, the government may take decent lives of citizens away.