Some people think that being able to communicate with others online is breaking down geographical barriers and enabling people, who would normally never have the chance to meet, to communicate.

What are the advantages of international communication online? Are there any disadvantages to this?

In our temporary world, the Internet connection makes everything easy to do and communication is not an exception. Thanks to the Internet, it's a piece of cake for citizens all around the world to make friends with ones who are far away. This essay will analyze the pros and cons of this phenomenon.

It is undeniable that the Internet makes people come closer. Social networks like Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and others contribute a lot to worldwide communication. With the Internet connection, users can easily make friends with others who are thousands of kilometers away.

They talk to each other via just a keyboard and a screen. Take myself as an example. Last month, I found an app which allows me to find people who want to speak English to chat and make phone calls. I made friends with a French teenager and we communicate in English. To be honest, I bet that I would never have a chance to meet him without using that app.

On the other hand, the drawbacks still exist. Internet users probably meet people who are mental terorrior. They can be a nightmare to the victims. According to a small survey in my city, there are 10% interviewees who were asked confessed they suffered from online sexual harrasment. Their Internet friends sent them sensitive photos, videos and messages.

In conclusion, online communication has two sides. People should self-protect from risks that exist online. The Internet can be the best tool to make friends and communicate but it can also be the biggest fear in one's lifetime.