Some people think that being able to communicate with others online is breaking down geographical barriers and enabling people, who would normally never have the chance to meet, to communicate.

What are the advantages of international communication online? Are there nay disadvantages to this?

It is undeniable that breakthroughs in science, especially in the domain of information technology, have numerous negative effects on the way people communicate to each other. Amongst of them, the most significant leap should be mentioned is that the ability to contact on the worldwide scale. However, it has some certain demerits that are going to be examined in this essay.

Thanks to the advance of technological system and internet connection, residences who are accommodating in different parts of the globe can engage in verbal communication. This has a considerable positive values for the community of language learners who have been relentlessly looking for opportunities to practice languages with native speakers. To clarify this point, a typical example is that a student in Vietnam can enroll in a course hosted by an American teacher who is locating half way around the world. Moreover, making friends on social network platforms has been proved to be an efficacious way to expand an individual's social circle, which may offer more choices in the process of searching for a partner.

Albeit all advantages mentioned above, there have been some cases proving otherwise. Abundance of cyber crimes have been reported recently, in which scam is considered as the most common. It is a challenging task to verify an identity of a person on a social website, taking advantage of which, criminals cover themselves with counterfeit identity to carry on scams. Furthermore, it is obvious that more and more users with false names are leaving vulgar comments on video clips or photographs without any fear of responsibility.

Taking all merits and demerits into account, it is translucent that international communication online bring our generation immeasurable benefits that the predecessor ones could not imagine. Otherwise, users should raise vigilance to ensure the personal security.