Some people think that being able to communicate with others online is breaking down geographical barriers and enabling people, who would normally never have the chance to meet, to communicate.

What are the advantages of international communication online? Are there any disadvantages to this?

Thanks to the advance of worldwide communication technologies, international virtual encounters and interactions are no longer an exclusive advantage of the rich but a fundamental service available to all, including underprivileged people. However, this milestone in human history does have its drawbacks alongside its benefits.

On the one hand, several advantages brought about by international communication online have enhanced human development remarkably. Firstly, the deeper connections among people from around the world could stimulate global understanding and learning; thus alleviating misleading prejudices of one country about another and creating a harmonious international environment. For instance, before the advent of global Internet interaction, the negative and suspicious impression of Eastern people was not uncommon among Westerners; however, by communicating with Asians online, their perception of their Asian counterparts has been improved. Secondly, on a large scale, more intensive communications with foreigners would facilitate international collaborations, especially in terms of economy and politics. Through various online meetings made possible by the Internet, businessmen in one nation can connect hundreds of potential partners worldwide; creating profitable business opportunities without the need for expensive movements. More importantly, the latest communication technologies can enable governments to hold several conferences online, which gives them greater possibility to seek common goals for future associations.

On the other hand, there are some problems caused by infinitive virtual interactions such as unwanted social influences, severe global competition and threats to national security. To exemplify, being able to be in touch globally irrespective of geographical restrictions might help transmit detrimental or inappropriate ideologies among Internet users. For instance, DINKs, a modern lifestyle popularized by online connections, has contributed to the worryingly low birth rate in many Eastern countries such as China and Japan. Moreover, alongside greater business chances, fierce competition from the cooperation of multinational companies has threatened the development of local firms, which might reduce the economic independence of developing countries. Finally, given that international communication online led to an unprecedented rate of information-sharing, any nation with an obsolete Internet security system and inadequate related laws will have to face serious interventions of foreign organizations and governments. In recent decades, various information-leaking cases caused by international corporations like Facebook have made valuable data of their users, consisting of local authorities, be exploited for evil purposes.

In conclusion, although the possibility for almost all individuals to meet people from nations online has brought about enormous social, economic and political advantages; this development has also posed some visible threats to human prosperity.